Octodogs! (114)

Top Tier: Red Grapes, Blueberry Yogurt. Bottom Tier: Octodogs, Scambled Eggs with Green Onions, Black Olives, Grape Tomatoes, Mini Bottle of Sriracha.


I must apologize to my loyal blog readers for being off unexpectedly over the past few days. I was not feeling well and didn’t make lunch or post anything as a result.

I’m feeling a bit better so I did make a point of getting a bento put together today and included a little “cuteness” to make up for being gone.

The cute factor today is thanks to the octodog. (I have to admit it’s not really an octodog since there are only six tentacles but apparently that’s common since the cutter I bought is designed this way.)

I had been admiring the octodogs in other bentos since I first became interested in bento but never tried to make one. I then saw the octodog cutter on jbox so I figured I’d pick one up.

Funny thing about this cutter. It doesn’t actually cut hot dogs. It’s not sharp enough to cut so the best I could do was use it to mark the bottom of the dog and then use a regular knife to cut. This can be done without the cutter so don’t waste your money.

Still, I did get them made so I’m happy about that. These dogs were boiled after cutting then I added black sesame seeds for eyes and a red sprinkle for mouths.

The octodogs are accompanied by scrambled eggs with green onion, black olives, grape tomatoes, and a small bottle of sriracha to spice up the eggs.

To finish this ideal meal I’ve added a tier with blueberry yogurt and red grapes. A delicious and simple meal to end the week.

Have a great weekend!

Published in: on June 11, 2010 at 11:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://idealmeal.wordpress.com/2010/06/11/octodogs-114/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

