Shrimp Alfredo Pasta (88) & The Move

Our family has been debating downsizing our home for the past few weeks. This is partly a financial matter but also a matter of convenience and transportation during our daughter’s senior year of high school in 2010-11.

My vehicle was totaled a few months ago (my daughter and the people in the other vehicle are fine but my Durango is gone) and then I was laid off of work just as our lease for our current house was in it’s last month.

My husband and I talked many times about how everything happens for a reason. We don’t really need this big house anymore since our son moved out and we’d save about $500 a month by moving between rent and utilities. That is huge when you’re looking for work and the max unemployment pay in Arizona is about 30% of my lost income.

Well, we found a two-bedroom townhome that has energy efficient appliances and windows and is about 500 square feet smaller. It is in a more central location which would allow for public transit until I can replace my car and it’s good for my husband and me when our daughter finishes school and decides to move out. (Please stay through college little-one.) Our daughter won’t be able to take the bus to school since it’s about 25 miles from the new place so we’re stuck trying to figure out how to get her home but we have until August to determine that.

The last few weeks have been so trying with the financial side of this really pushing the move. Now our current landlord does the walk-through here and offers to drop our rent $200/month if we’d like to stay another year! I don’t want to move but that’s still not the same as we’d save by moving.

Arrrgh! Too hard to decide. I want to stay. This is our home. We’ll have to sell half of what we own to move since there’s no room for our bigger furniture and much of my kitchen stuff. The new place is upstairs with no balcony, no pantry, no storage, and our dog, Lindsey, would have a big adjustment not being able to go out on her own. Plus…I don’t want to sell my stuff. Is that crazy? I’ve grown attached to that Nesco roaster I use two or three times a year, and that big turkey platter that we used for all our Thanksgiving dinners. No room to store it so it would go out to the garage sale as would our dining room set which is too big for the new place. 😦

I can’t believe I’m sad over having to sell my stuff. It’s replaceable right? An extra $300 a month is too much to pay (especially while unemployed) just to keep my stuff.

What does this have to do with today’s bento? Nothing. But, I feel the need to vent so thanks for listening.

Now to the bento! Today’s ideal meal is a freezer cleaner. Basically if we do move we need to reduce our stash so I used some frozen peas, shrimp, and stored alfredo sauce to make a nice pasta dish. I’ve also added some cheese and crackers, grapes, a hard-candy, and banana pudding with a shortbread cookie (the cookie was eaten right after I snapped the photo). 😀

Lower Tier (shown on top): Peas, Shrimp, Bowties with peas and red pepper in alfredo sauce. Upper Tier (shown on bottom): Crackers, Cheese, Butterscotch Drop, Grape Skewer, Banana Pudding with Shortbread Cookie.

The moving company is coming to check out our stuff today to give us an estimate. I can still change my mind though…

Published in: on April 23, 2010 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://idealmeal.wordpress.com/2010/04/23/bento-88/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

